Welcome Message

T. Yokoyama
Toshio Yokoyama National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)

It is a great pleasure for me to welcome you to the 7th International Symposium on Future Active Safety Technology toward zero traffic accidents (FAST-zero'23) .

FAST-zero’23 will be held in Kanazawa, a historical place of Japan after the successful 5th symposium in Blacksburg, Virginia, USA and the 6th symposium online due to COVID-19.
Following the tradition of FAST-zero symposia, we will bring together researchers and engineers from industry and academia to present the current state-of-the-art and progress in research and development of active safety technologies.

Innovation in the field of active safety is the key driving force towards the ultimate goal of realizing zero traffic accidents. Researchers around the world have been investigating methods for active safety to reduce and possibly eliminate the number of traffic accidents as well as road fatalities. Especially, automated and connected vehicles have the potential to enhance safety through new sensors, dynamic maps, artificial intelligence and other technologies that have experienced a great improvement in the last years.

The organizers are looking forward to your contribution and to seeing you in person at FAST-zero’23


General Chair: T. Yokoyama (AIST)

Advisory Board *As of Oct. 3, 2022

Chair: M. Kamata (JARI)
  • M. Boesch (Continental Japan)
  • Y. Furukawa (Shibaura Inst. Tech.)
  • K. Itabashi (Woven CORE)
  • H. Inoue (Kanagawa Inst. of Tech.)
  • I. Kageyama (Nihon Univ.)
  • S. Kato (AIST)
  • M. Nagai (TUAT)
  • M. Segawa (ASMobi)
  • Y. Suda (Univ. of Tokyo)
  • Y. Sugimoto (Honda R&D)
  • K. Takeda (Nagoya Univ.)
  • T. Wada (NAIST)
  • A. Yamamoto (ITS Japan)

Organizing Committee

Chair: M. Shino (Tokyo Tech)
Working Group Members
  • C. Miyajima (Daido Univ.)
  • Y. Omoda (JARI)
  • T. Shimizu (Toyota CRDL)
  • K. Maeda (Hitachi)
  • P. Raksincharoensak (TUAT)
  • H. Yoshitake (Univ. of Tokyo)
  • K. Suzuki (Kagawa Univ.)
  • M. Segawa (ASMobi)
  • A. Carballo (Gifu Univ.)
Committee Members
  • K. Abe (SUBARU)
  • M. Aga (Toyota Motor)
  • T. Akita (Toyota Tech. Inst.)
  • T. Ashiki (Mitsubishi Motors)
  • S. Doi (Kagawa Univ.)
  • T. Fukao (Univ. of Tokyo)
  • S. Fukazawa (Isuzu Adv. Eng. Center)
  • Y. Furukawa (Prof. Univ. Elect. Mobility Syst.)
  • Y. Hamaguchi (Hino Motors)
  • H. Inou (DENSO)
  • H. Inoue (Kanagawa Inst. Tech.)
  • T. Ito (Shibaura Inst. Tech.)
  • M. Ito (Tokushima Univ.)
  • T. Kato (ADVICS)
  • Y. Marumo (Nihon Univ.)
  • T. Nakata (OMNIVISION Tech.)
  • Y. Shiozawa (Nissan Motor)
  • Y. Suda (Univ. of Tokyo)
  • T. Sugano (Mazda Motor)
  • F. Sugasawa (TUAT TLO)
  • N. Tanaka (NALTEC)
  • Y. Toujou (Suzuki Motor)
  • T. Tsukada (Honda Motor)

Local Organizing Committee

Chair: N. Suganuma (Kanazawa Univ.)
  • T. Yamawaki (Kanazawa Univ.)

International Scientific Committee

Chair: P. Raksincharoensak (Japan)
  • S. Byttner (Sweden)
  • T. Furukawa (USA)
  • J. Hansen (USA)
  • R. Henze (Germany)
  • H. Inoue (Japan)
  • M. Itoh (Japan)
  • S. Kitazaki (Japan)
  • D. Lechner (France)
  • K. Li (China)
  • S. Eben Li (China)
  • M. Lidberg (Sweden)
  • C. Miyajima (Japan)
  • B. Morris (USA)
  • O. Pion (Germany)
  • S. A. Schneider (Germany)
  • M. Shino (Japan)
  • K. Suzuki (Japan)
  • H. H. Tadjine (Germany)
  • T. Wada (Japan)
  • K. Yi (Korea)

FAST-zero’23 is organized by

Society of Automotive Engineers of Japan, Inc.

FAST-zero’23 Organizing Committee of
the Society of Automotive Engineers of Japan, Inc. (JSAE)